Short story number 31!

Hello budding writers!

Here is my thirty first short story, enjoy reading!

i don't want us to be strangers again.jpg

Can we be friends again?

We always talk about love sorrows but we almost never speak of friendship breakups. My name is Marina and I am twenty-four years old. Last year I experienced a painful rupture. I lost a boyfriend and a friend. Yes, I have mentioned one breakup and I have no problem with math. Stan was both my boyfriend and one of my closest friends before we started dating.

It’s been seven months since the last time I saw him. Ironically, our relationship also lasted seven months and I was born on July 7, I must have a connection with number 7! I realized that life does not always run as you want. What should have brought us closer actually drove us further apart. I will not deny that I missed him and that I still miss him sometimes. However, it is more the friend that I miss. I really hope that we can recover the friendly insouciance that bound us before. 

When our mutual friends ask me about him, I do not know what to say, I cannot tell them that we became complete strangers and that we are only friends on Facebook, I think it would make them sad. In the old days, even before we became a couple, Stan was always the first to wish me a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. This year, he did not send me a single message. Icy radio silence. I did not contact him either because of pride and because I was afraid of being hurt if he did not answer. Finally I survived the end of 2015, I was able to party and I did not feel sad or depressed. This may be a sign that I healed.

Today I feel much better, I overcame the breakup and I realize my objectives progressively. I can even say that I am able to be happy on my own. I feel no more sorrow or pain. I just want us to burry the hatchet and to be able to meet as friends like in the old days. Dear Stan, if you read these lines, know that I no longer feel any grudge towards you, I finally moved on and I hope to see my friend again one day. In the meantime, take care.

Marina.

thanks 4

Hope you enjoyed this short story. Have a lovely day 🙂

Leave a Reply

