How to survive the job hunting !

Dear job seekers,

Do you remember the day you finally graduated? Of course, how could you forget? You were so happy, full of hope and optimism for the future, claiming to anyone who would listen “I cannot wait to work, earn money and live a dream life!”… Poor naive, my apologies for this abrupt tone, but you were still so innocent at that time! Don’t worry, I was the same in October last year. For me, it was normal to find a job after finishing my studies. I never thought that the job hunting would be so difficult! That’s why I decided to write this article. Because I know how stressful it is and that a lot of people are in the same situation, I’m gonna give you my survival tips to overcome this terrible experience. Get ready!

1. Stop sending mechanical applications! You cannot apply all day without doing anything else, because we are humans, not robots! What’s the point to send the same stereotypical cover letter to 50 companies per day? We only live once, I know that it is very difficult not to say impossible to find the dream job on the first try, but honestly, how can you manage to write a proper letter if you are not really motivated by the position? Keep on applying to fields and positions that interest you! In France, we have to work for 42 years before retiring. You need motivation to get up every morning, so you should better like your job.

keep-calm-and-stay-motivated-36

2. Unless you really need a student job to pay your rent, focus on real jobs. Writing cover letters is already exhausting enough like this.

focused

3. That’s why it’s important to stay in shape. Go for a walk, do sport, listen to music, don’t give up your hobbies.

stay fit

4. You have to clear your head if you don’t want it to explode! One day I decided to come back to the swimming pool, it made me feel better but it wasn’t enough. I started to cook again also. You got it, job searching should not stop you from living your life!

clear your mind

5. It is important to maintain and improve your skills because if you’re not practicing, you forget everything! For example, I got a score of 885 at the TOEIC exam. It’s not bad but I’m not bilingual and the TOEIC score is only available for 2 years. How do I practice? By watching series and movies in English, I put English subtitles when I’m watching a DVD, I sing in English as well and I write in English every day thanks to my blog. See, you can learn by having fun!

????????????????????????????????????????

6. Push your limits! I’m a shy girl but I dared to make a video cv to give more impact to my applications and allow the recruiters to discover the different facets of my personality, in a fun and humorous way. It took me 2 weeks to realize this video with the help of my family and friends. I didn’t find a job yet but at least I had fun and proved to myself that I was able to do it.

limitless

7. Proofread your CV to be sure that it’s ok. Sometimes a typo is enough to make the recruiters run away.

proofreading

8. Keep on seeing your friends and family because you need their support more than ever! It’s not because some companies don’t want you that you have to feel unwanted or rejected. On the contrary, keep on believing that you are great and too good for them, trust me, it will lift your mood!

keep in touch

9. Keep on making projects, it’s important to have your own dreams and to give you the ways to achieve them. I started this blog on the 1st of February and seeing that the number of visits is growing every day gives me courage to move on and share my centers of interest to the world.

dream

10. Finally, don’t lose hope because, soon or later, you will find a job. A job that you will love, a job that will allow you to blossom and be proud of yourself.

hope

Hope this article made you feel better and gave you strengths to continue your job hunting. If you want to share your own tips about this, don’t hesitate to use the comment space. Hugs 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

